Theatre Book Prize 2010 – Announcement of the Short List

The Theatre Book Prize was first awarded for 1997 to celebrate the Jubilee of the Society for Theatre Research. It was created to encourage the writing and publication of books on British theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future. It is now presented annually for a book onBritish or British related theatre which an independent panel of judges considers to be the best published during the year. All new works of original research first published in English are eligible except for play texts and studies of drama as literature.

The Society for Theatre Research and the judges have announced the following short list for the Theatre Book Prize for books published in 2009, in alphabetical order:

The Cambridge Introduction to Theatre Historiography by Thomas Postlewait (Cambridge University Press)

Different Drummer: the Life of Kenneth Macmillan by Jan Parry (Faber)

Opera for Everybody:  The Story of English National Opera by Susie Gilbert (Faber)

The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern Theatre edited by Richard Dutton (Oxford University Press)

The Pantomime Life of Joseph Grimaldi by Andrew Stott (Canongate)

The winner of the Theatre Book Prize will be announced at 11.45 am on Tuesday April 27th 2010 at a reception in the Grand Saloon at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane when the judges will speak about the books.

Theatre Book Prize 2010 Judges

Representing the theatrical profession
Mr Matthew Kelly the well-loved actor who has recently received acclaim for his performances in Of Mice and Men, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and currently in Waiting for Godot – and of course well known to television viewers as former presenter of ‘Stars in Your Eyes’

Representing theatre critics
Mr Mark Shenton theatre critic for the Sunday Express and a regular columnist and blogger for The Stage, Playbill (USA) and other publications

Representing academia
Professor Jane Moody  holds a personal chair in the Centre for Eighteenth–Century Studies at the University of York and among her books on theatre Illegitimate Theatre in London was a runner up for this prize in 2000

The panel is chaired by Howard Loxton for the Society for Theatre Research, who votes only if there is a tie.

For More about the Theatre Book Prize, go on

Leave a Reply