The Theatre Book Prize (for books published in 2010) at Drury Lane Theatre on 18th May

The Society for Theatre Research and the judges are pleased to announce the following short list for the Theatre Book Prize for books published in 2010, in alphabetical order:

Actors and Acting in Shakespeare’s Time by John H. Astington (Cambridge University Press)

Diaghilev & the Golden Age of the Ballets Russes 1909-1929 edited by Jane Pritchard (V & A Publishing)

Putting It On: the West End Theatre of Michael Codron by Michael Codron and Alan Strachan (Gerald Duckworth)

The Reluctant Escapologist by Mike Bradwell (Nick Hern Books)

Shakespeare on Stage: Thirteen Leading Actors on Thirteen Key Roles by Julian Curry (Nick Hern Books)

The winner of the Theatre Book Prize will be announced at 11.45 am on Wednesday May 18th 2011 at a reception in the Grand Saloon at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane  when the judges will speak about the books.

The Theatre Book Prize Judges:

Representing the theatrical profession
Mr Kerry Michael  Artistic Director Theatre Royal, Stratford East, succesor to the mantle of Jan Littlewood and Philip Hedley.

Representing the critics
Miss Jann Parry former ballet critic of The Observer and winner last year for her biography of Kenneth Macmillan A Different Drummer

Representing academia
Professor Michael Dobson  Birkbeck College Univ of London

The panel is chaired by Howard Loxton for the Society for Theatre Research, who votes only if there is a tie.

The Theatre Book Prize was first awarded for 1997 to celebrate the Jubilee of the Society for Theatre Research. It was created to encourage the writing and publication of books on British theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future. It is now presented annually for a book on British or British related theatre which an independent panel of judges considers to be the best published during the year. All new works of original research first published in English are eligible except for play texts and studies of drama as literature.

More about the Theatre Book Prize on

Leave a Reply