Judges for Theatre Book Prize 2009 Announced

The Society for theatre Research has been announced that the following have agreed to serve as judges for the theatre Book Prize for books published in 2009. 

Representing the Theatrical Profession

Mr Matthew Kelly the well-loved actor who has recently received acclaim for his performances in Of Mice and Men, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and currently Troilus and Cressida at Shakespeare’s Globe – and of course well known to television viewers as former presenter of ‘Stars in Your Eyes

Representing Theatre Critics

Mr Mark Shenton, theatre critic for the Sunday Express and a regular columnist and blogger for The Stage, Playbill (USA) and other publications

Representing Academia

Professor Jane Moody  (University of York)

The judging panel is chaired by Howard Loxton of the Society for Theatre Research

Publishers are now invited to submit books for consideration.  For entry details contact theatrebookprize@btinternet.com


 This prize was established to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the Society for Theatre Research which was founded in 1948. It was first awarded for books published in 1997.  Its aim is to encourage the writing and publication of books on theatre history and practice, both those which present the theatre of the past and those which record contemporary theatre for the future.  It is presented annually for a book on British or British related theatre which an independent panel of judges considers to be the best published during the year. All new works of original research first published in English are eligible except for play texts and studies of drama as literature. There are three judges, who are different each year. They are drawn from the ranks of people working in theatre – performers, directors and others, theatre critics, senior academics concerned with theatre and theatre archivists, with a chairperson who is a member of the committee of the Society for Theatre Research.

Leave a Reply